Sunday Recap: July 14, 2013

By

Sunday Recap

Sunday, July 14, 2013

It was a great day in the Lord at Winterville First Baptist.  I am continuing my series in Judges and I preached Judges 3:12-30 in a sermon I entitled, “A Soiled Southpaw and a Rotund Ruler.”  

Main Idea of the Text:  God used the sinful flaws of Ehud in order to accomplish the salvation of Israel.  

Main Idea of the Sermon:  God can use any saved sinner in a greater way than he ever used a sinful Ehud.

If God will use a sinful man like Ehud, what can he do with someone who is a follower of Jesus Christ? 

I. Ehud’s World (12-15a).  

II. Ehud’s Weapons (3:15b-18).  

III. Ehud’s Work (3:19-3:26a).  

IV. Ehud’s Warfare (3:26b-30).  

As I was finishing my sermon all of the electricity failed in the sanctuary and we were in the dark!  I made a remark about losing electricity but that I was going to keep preaching.  I finished the sermon, we did the invitation in the dark, and then dismissed the service.  Apparently a tree fell on some nearby power lines and knocked the electricity out.

I shared with our church family that we were $3,000 from having enough money to remodel our largest playground.  Before the morning was over $3,000 had been given to get started on this project!  Praise the Lord!

The electricity was back on in time for us to have evening worship.  I preached Luke 1:57-80, “What to Do When God Fulfills a Promise.”  

Main Idea of the Text:  Those who witnessed the birth of John the Baptist were affected because God kept His promise to Elizabeth.

Main Idea of the Sermon:  It should affect us when God fulfills a promise in our lives.

How am I to respond when God fulfills a promise in my life?

This text reveals 3 ways we are to respond when God fulfills a promise to us.

I. God’s fulfilled promises should cause us to be joyful (57-58).  

II. God’s fulfilled promises should cause us to be obedient (59-66).  

III. God’s fulfilled promises should cause us to worship (67-80). 

